★ Children Articles Submission Open Click Here

Indian Life Style Latest Life Style

Nava And Navarathri – Part 2

Nine in Hinduism

Nava, also meaning ‘new’ is ‘nine’ the number to which sages attach special significance.
The number nine is accurate, complete, magical and mystical in nature and this is accepted in mathematics or science or any religion of the world. It is the ultimate manifestation of infinity from the null or void.
Nine is considered to be complete, puranam, because any number multiplied by nine gives a figure that totals to nine.
The number nine added or deducted from any number gives a figure with the numerical total unchanged. This concept is explained in the famous shanti path mantra of the Upanishads.

Read Nava And Navarathri – Part1 here :

  • The days representing the 16 phases or kalas of themoon constitute a fortnight. Thetwo pakshas—waxing and waning of the moon—make a month. These tithis are also 360 in a lunar year again depicting a total of nine.
  • The universe is also composed of 36 tatvas that emanates from Parama Shiva that has the numerical value of nine.
  • Kaal or the nine divisions of time — ghatika, yama, ahoratra, vara, tithi, paksha, masa, ritu, ayan.
  • There are 360 rays of universal Sakthi represented by Maha Tripurasundari. It is shown in the form of a circle which has a 360 degree angle indicating fullness. This 360 digit again totals to nine, the number of creation.
  • Adi Sankaracharya in the 8th century AD clearly indicated the significance of number nine in the Soundaryalahiri, 11th sloka: `The four Siva chakras and five Sakti chakras create the nine Mula-Prakratis or basic manifestations, because they represent the source substance of the whole cosmos.

The nine forms of Goddess Durga or Tripurasundari worshipped during Navratras are

Different Forms of Goddess Durga Devi | 9 Forms of Maa Durga - Temples In  India Info - Slokas, Mantras, Temples, Tourist Places

  • SKANDAMATA the Goddess of Fire
    with four arms and three eyes who rides a lion.
  • KUSUMANDA, eight-armed form seated on a lion with a magnanimous presence.
  • SHAILAPUTRI is the embodiment of
    the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. She rides a bull and carries a trident and a lotus in her two hands.
  • KAALRATRI, the four-armed Goddess who rides an ass. She dissipates darkness from amidst her devotees, and bestows freedom from fear and adversity.
  • BRAHMACHARINI practices devout austerity. Filled with bliss and happiness, she is the way to emancipation or Moksha.
  • MAHA GAURI is like an eight-year-old girl, intelligent and peaceful with the three eyes and four arms who rides the bull.
  • KATYAYANI, goddess of Vrindavan  with her golden form and four arms and three eyes who is seated on a lion.
  • CHANDRAGHANTA ten-armed epitome of bravery who rides a lion and drives away all evildoers.
  • SIDDHIDATRI four armed Goddess who bestows accomplishments and is seated on a lotus.
Next in the series will be Leaves, Grains, Body Chakras and more that are classified into Nine by our ancestors!!! Await for the same!!!

Latest posts by Poornima Rajini (see all)

One Reply to “Nava And Navarathri – Part 2

  1. Pingback: mom sex games

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *